30 Day Reading Challenge

This is just a short update to say that I’ve decided to participate in a 30 Day Reading Challenge, and by participate I mean that I’ve seen a few other people do them and it sounds like a good plan to me!

The idea is pretty self-explanatory: you read for thirty days. I’ve decided to add another dimension to the challenge, because I already read most days and wouldn’t find just ‘reading’ every day as much of a challenge that I want, so I’ve decided that I’m going to set a target of reading 50 pages every day. These thirty days, starting today, will take me up to two days before my final ever exam at university, which marks the end of my university career, so in this time of extreme stress and anxiety, I want to make sure I’m taking the time to give myself a break and read something for fun. I always worry that I’ll kill my love of reading from revising all day or doing essay reading all day, so I’m hoping this ensures my consistent reminder that reading is fun.

Although this is a challenge, I’m not going to force myself to read if I feel like all I want to do is nap or do something else for a beak, but I’m hoping 50 pages is something that’s reachable whilst still being a challenge. I’m also going to include audiobooks, as I really want to finish the one I’m on (Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix) so I can make a start on the huge one I’ve got waiting for me (Bleak House). As most chapters are around 30 minutes long, I’m going to say I have to listen to at least one chapter or as close to 30/40 minutes I can get.

So this is day 1, and so far I’ve done 42 pages so I’m planning to finish off the challenge for today by doing some reading before bed. Wish me luck!

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

One thought on “30 Day Reading Challenge”

Leave a Reply

