January Wrap Up

It’s been a slow month for me, thanks to the onslaught of uni work and reading and other extra instances of stress (aka I had my wisdom tooth out and it was awful, would not recommend, you lose over a week of reading. Bad time). But we made it to February, and I even have a couple of goals I can already cross off!

First up for me this month was The Northern Lights by Philip Pullman. It’s definitely inspired an upcoming blog post about children’s books, especially the classics, and I’m so happy I finally got around to reading this gem. I fully understand why everyone was so angry with the film, and really wish that they had been able to include the finer details along with that insane ending – so many twists and turns I didn’t know what to do with myself. Absolutely adored it, and here’s hoping I’ll be able to get to the sequels some point soon.

ariel-the-little-mermaid-i-want-more-gif.gif
teen.com

Then, in one very long night, I read Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I had read 40 pages on one evening and had to put it down to do some work, but after trying to read more of Paradise Lost, I decided to keep reading Truthwitch. Next thing I know it’s 2am, my eyes are burning and my head is aching but I’m still so happy because that book took me for quite the ride. I received it for review from work, and so dutifully posted a review on the website the next morning when I had actually had some sleep. A brilliant first book of a series, and my only critiques were a need for more world building (and details) along with more character development, which I’m sure we’ll see through the series. Great for anyone looking for a new fun fantasy, with a great female friendship at its centre.

The third and final book I read was Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche which was for a feminist book club that I’ve joined. Technically I finished it on the 1st of February, but I put so much effort into reading this in January that I’m counting it as a January read for sure. It was so difficult to read alongside university, especially as I wanted to savour the words on every page. It’s one of those books where, really, you don’t really mind what happens plot-wise – you just want to soak up all of the words and thoughts the author has, translated in beautiful prose. I loved being able to talk about this book in such a big group of people, as the topics explored – racism, feminism, mental illness, immigrant experiences and more – needed the time we gave for full discussion. A brilliantly written, powerful book which deserves all the attention it’s had and more.

2013-10-04-31-sherlocksle.2c4dc.gif
mashable

And so here is my updated 2017 challenge list, with a star at the beginning of the ones I’ve completed:

  1. 4 ‘Classics’
  2. A Man Booker nominee
  3. *A Baileys nominee
  4. A Feminist Book cover to cover
  5. *‘A Blue Cover’
  6. A Graphic Novel
  7. A Horror Book
  8. Finish a series you’ve started
  9. A friend’s favourite book
  10. Poetry book
  11. Book over 500 pages
  12. Book under 150 pages
  13. Book with a character with your name
  14. An autobiography
  15. A play
  16. *A book from your TBR
  17. Book published in 2017

Americanah was shortlisted for the Baileys fiction prize, Truthwitch has a blue cover, and Northern Lights is a book I’ve been meaning to read for a long, longlong time. I’m pleased that all three managed to tick off a challenge, as that was completely unintentional. I think instead of crossing off those challenges completely, I’ll add a star each time I complete it – for example, if I read another Baileys nominee I’ll add a second star. That way I can see which challenges I’ve completed, and which ones I’ve utterly destroyed.

Here’s to February.

9353926.gif

 

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

Leave a Reply

