Christmas Book Haul

I seem to have acquired quite a few books recently, thanks to Christmas presents and Christmas money that of course was immediately spent on more books. So I thought it would be fun to make a post about the various books I’ve received and what I’m planning to read next.

Starting with Christmas presents, one of my best friends gave me a two old editions of Euripides’ plays along with The Art of the Publisher by Roberto Calasso. It was such a thoughtful gift, especially considering the career I want to go into, and I can’t wait to read it. My parents bought me two books from the Penguin Clothbound Classics series, Paradise Lost and Dracula which I’m looking forward to add to the collection. (Although it was really difficult holding up these two with one hand, as they were both pretty hefty)

My parents also gave me the December Owlcrate box, which included Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst. I’ve only briefly read the blurb, but it sounds like it’s packed with adventure and action all about a princess who falls for another girl, and I’m so glad to see more books with LGBTQ+ characters as protagonists, instead of just secondary characters. I picked up a signed copy of Blood For Blood by Ryan Graudin at work, thanks to a late gift from my brother, as I adored the first book and can’t wait to see where this one goes.

Then with some Christmas money, I picked up these two beauties – Runemarks by Joanna M. Harris and Hot Milk by Deborah Levy. The latter I had been hoping to purchase for a while now, since it was nominated for the Man Booker 2016 prize, and when I saw a signed copy I immediately had to get it. I only know Joanna M. Harris through her book Chocolat, but the real reason I bought Runemarks was the absolutely stunning cover which not only was shiny and reminded me of stained glass, but it had a horse on the cover. I know. Incredible, isn’t it? I didn’t read the blurb until after buying it, and once again was lucky in discovering it was about mythology! Norse mythology, at that, which I can’t wait to read.

And finally, these two books were sent to me for review. I’m so excited to read Truthwitch by Susan Dennard as I’ve heard so many great things, and the Children of Jocasta by Natalie Haynes sounds like just my kind of book. It’s a reimagining of Oedipus and Antigone, the latter of which is my favourite Ancient Greek play, focussing on Jocasta (mother/wife to Oedipus and mother of Antigone) and Ismene (daughter of Jocasta and Oedipus, sister to Antigone). I’m looking forward to see what she does with these characters and where she’ll take the story.

And that’s it! A very exciting haul of books, and I want to read all of them immediately – not to mention that I’ve recently joined a feminist book club and our read for this month is Americanah by the legendary Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. As the sequel is coming out soon, Truthwitch will probably be my next pick followed by the Natalie Haynes, whilst reading Americanah and Paradise Lost for university as well. Normally I hate reading more than one book at the same time, but it’s become a must with university. Such is the hard life I lead with such difficult choices, but someone’s got to do it.

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

Leave a Reply

