October Wrap Up

Considering the month of October included university work unlike the likes I’ve ever seen, a trip to the US, and continued working on the weekends, I’m surprised I managed to read anything at all. Yet somehow, my Goodreads account claims I’ve read one more book than I thought I had. As I’m unsure where I’ve messed up, and don’t particularly want to go through all 2016 wrap up blogs alongside my Goodreads logs, we’re just going to pretend there’s no mistake whatsoever.

shit-happens-rick.gif
uproxx

So first up I read Frostblood by Elly Blake, which was far bester than I expected it to be. I actually received the book back in the July Fairyloot box, but just hadn’t picked it up yet. I had just finished The Crown’s Game, mentioned in my previous wrap up, and was still riding that fantastical high. A book about people controlling fire and ice sounded like fun, and although I wasn’t expecting much, Frostblood had an interesting setting, a great build up, and a surprisingly great ending – although the ‘big twist’ wasn’t much of a shock. I expect there will be a sequel, and in that I hope Blake manages to develop all of the characters even more – especially the secondary ones, which I don’t think were always used to their full potential – although I personally have no idea where she’s going to take the plot from here on out, so I look forward to seeing what she does.

Next I finally finished the audiobook for Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, which I once again loved. I’d completely forgotten some of the details of certain characters and events, especially towards the end, so there were still moments that were completely new to me. There’s a lot that wasn’t included in the films, which I expected, but honestly I love coming across these little pieces of new information and plot. I especially love everything to do with Hermione’s S.P.E.W and the ghost Peeves, who I wish could have been in the films.

giphy-3.gif
giphy

The third and final book I finished in October was The Hero with a Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell, which I read for my dissertation. I enjoyed it far more than I thought I would, mainly due to Campbell’s beautiful writing style. There were passages that I had to write down, just for his use of phrase and imagery to encapsulate the world of the ancient hero. If you have any interest in ancient classics, mythology, or the hero trope, I highly recommend it.

So even though I’ve also read about two thirds of another book in October, I’m happy with these three – especially as I mentioned in my last wrap up that I just needed to read three books a month in order to get to my goal. I’ve also, unsurprisingly, read a couple of Kindle books in the past month, so in terms of overall reading I’ve managed to get through a lot. As I’ve told myself that I just don’t have the time to participate in NaNoWriMo this year, which I’m very unhappy about despite the fact that it’s for my own good (head over to my writing blog alwayslovetowrite.wordpress.com to read more), this means that I should have some more time for recreational reading. I did count Campbell in with this month, even though it was for university, and I should have another university book in November’s wrap up – so maybe next year my goal will be books not included for uni, although that may be a bit cruel to myself.

Anyway, thanks for reading, and here’s hoping that we’ll reach our reading goals!

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

Leave a Reply

