Another Illumicrate!

It’s that wonderful time of the month when there is a wonderful parcel waiting for me – and that would be the joy that is Illumicrate. Honestly, just seeing the white and yellow box fills me with excitement, yellow is definitely the happiest colour without fail. After my last review (see here!), Daphne gave me a discount for this box so, honestly, double the excitement.

She did not disappoint.

IMG_0932

First up was the classic tote bag but with ‘in omnia paratus’, which is Latin for ‘ready for all things’. I mean, what is more enticing to a Classics student than Latin on a tote bag? (Nothing, that’s what) The design is so cute with the umbrellas, and being in London you always need an umbrella to be prepared so it fits perfectly. It was only afterwards that I found out that it was from Gilmore Girls, which although I don’t watch it makes more sense for this bag! Loved it.

Then we have two items that just go perfectly together, and with the mug from the last Illumicrate I have a perfect set! Two Harry Potter coasters, one with the original gang from the movie and the other matching the cast from the grown up Cursed Child trio! They’re absolutely beautiful, and I almost don’t want to use them and just have them framed on my wall. To go with my coasters is a packet of tea with a classic Lewis Carroll quote ‘It’s always Tea Time’ – truer words have never been spoken. Two more beautifully thought out items.

Colouring is just a good time, which is why having two prints to colour in and add to my wall of random things is just perfect. Not to mention the four mini posters with just gorgeous designs to pin up as well! There was also a discount for the most awesome looking bookmark ever, which had me incredibly excited. But not as excited as what’s coming up next.

IMG_0937

As you know, I attended YALC, my first ever book convention, and managed to find Daphne and give her a hug. Yet there was a book there that my friend and I thought looked particularly good called The Graces. There was a cool little quiz where you could find out what ‘witch’ you are, which my friend and I chose for each other and apparently I’m a Fire Witch – whose animals included wolves and horses, so, buzzing. Now what do I find in my box but a proof copy of said book?? You have no idea how much I squealed (no shame) and read through the author letter and immediately stuck in my signed book plate.

And then, a curve ball. It was the most wonderful, unexpected surprise of the whole box, but before I get into let’s tell a small story. The story of when Eleanor saw a cool proof at work of an upcoming fantasy book and thought ‘wow that looks good, I’ll have to pick that up at the end of the day’, only to discover that someone else thought it also looked good. End of shift arrives, and the bloody book has been taken away by someone else with very good taste. So comes the disappointment that one can only get when the one (book) gets away . But not to fear, Illumicrate is here to the rescue.

IMG_0938

That’s right, my pain was somehow felt and cured with a beautiful hardback copy of Nevernight in my box along with another signed bookplate, a card poster, and a bookmark! I can’t convey the happiness I felt at seeing this book, and may have said a little prayer of thanks to the Book Gods that keep watch over me.

IMG_0945

So another beautiful box and I couldn’t be happier with it. Each item was wonderful, and the two books were ideal for me especially. Daphne has outdone herself, and you should definitely check out Illumicrate, a quarterly book subscription service! Follow them on twitter @illumicrate and on Instagram for bookish joy. You won’t regret it!

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

Leave a Reply

