July Wrap Up

July was not a good month for several reasons (head over to my personal writing blog for more info https://alwayslovetowrite.wordpress.com/ ), and so I had a terrible reading month. About halfway through July for personal reasons, I didn’t really feel motivated to do much at all, including reading. I was so proud that I’ve been able to keep up with posting at least 2 or 3 times a month on both of my blogs this year, but that all went down the drain in July. Anyway, let’s jump into not only the books that I actually read, but that I started reading – yeah, it was one of those months.

tumblr.com

So the first book I started was The King Must Die by Mary Renault which was for my dissertation, and I had been reading it for a few weeks and hadn’t even managed to get halfway so I set it aside to try again another time. I’m not sure why, really – the writing is very well done and I love the classics-elements, but for some reason it just didn’t hook me. Perhaps if I get further that will change, but for what I read I wasn’t interested in the characters and didn’t really connect with them. Instead of coming home and wanting to read, I would think that I’d have to read that book so ended up not reading and doing something else. So concludes my second excuse.

I’m currently reading, and still haven’t finished, two other books. Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff and a manuscript sent over from a publishing house I’m interning at next week (ah!) to read through. It’s been difficult to find time to read these two the past week, what with emotions, full-time work, and the need to sleep. I’m happy to say though that Fates and Furies is helping to get me out of this reading slump.

fantastig.tumblr

Now onto the list of short, not necessarily good, ebooks I downloaded due to my guilt of not reading anything but wanting to read something so mindless it didn’t matter that there were often grammar mistakes amongst bad writing. It’s my guilty pleasure, leave me alone.

Idol by Kristen Callihan was one of the better ones that I read, with some great witty lines and overall good fun. Then it was Stealing Home by Nicole Williams which I also lost interest in halfway through but then it picked up a bit by the end. Wicked by Geissinger  which was, agian, easy to read and good fun.

The final two were polar opposites – and one of them I’m counting as a proper book as I would have bought the physical copy had I been more patient and not buying it on kindle as soon as I could. This would be Torn by Jennifer L Armentrout, one of the authors that I immediately buy when I see a new release. I loved the first in the series, and I read this one in a single sitting and did enjoy it, but decided I preferred the first more – even though I read it two years ago. The final book I read, however, was called My Clarity by M. Clarke as someone recommended it. I had to skim read most of it due to lots of over-explaining and not great writing and really had to force myself to finish it. Not much fun at all.

giphy.com

That means that my count of books this month is five books, although only one ‘proper’ book counted – I really need to find a new word, I don’t mean proper I mean physical copy of a book that isn’t a flick. Anyway, this means my book count goes up by a measly one to 35/50 – and I think I may stop counting the kindle flick total and just focus on this one! Here’s hoping to a better August.

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

Leave a Reply

