Illumicrate review

We all know that book subscription boxes are my favourite things on earth, and if I had enough money I would get them all. Alas, the student life doesn’t allow that much of a luxury but I was able to afford Illumicrate this month. I’ve previously reviewed owlcrate on this blog, and Illumicrate is similar in the sense that it’s a subscription box that features a book with some bookish goodies. There are two very important differences though: it isn’t monthly but a quarterly box, and it is a UK box. UK people! For my readers who aren’t in the UK, you probably don’t care, but for me this is very very exciting. I had heard of Illumicrate before, but simply assumed that it was like the rest and shipping out from the US, but no. So when I decided to treat myself to a book subscription box for my exam season and discovered Illumicrate, I thought there was no chance I could not give it a go – not to mention that it ships out in February, May, August and November, so it was perfect timing.

image2 (2)

First off is the book featured in the box, and whilst I’m not always aware of all the up and coming books, I had heard of When We Collided  by Emery Lord, featured on several Booktube channels that I watch. So when I opened the box and actually knew the book I may or may not have become slightly (a lot) excited. That cover, just look how gorgeous it is! It came with a few cards as seen above which I believe are postcards, but they’ll all probably end up on my wall.

image4 (2)

The first item I found in the box made me practically squeal, because just look at it. Although difficult to photograph, it came with a little image on a tag – it’s a stamp of a cute little fox on top of a stack of books, and if you don’t love it then you’re insane. A beautiful design and a fantastic idea for an item to include in a box.

image7 (1)

I think I’ve previously expressed my love for fun mugs, especially of the book variety, so when I see that Illumicrate is featuring a mug? OH MY GOODNESS ME, I was ecstatic. No more needs to be said.

image3 (2)

Another favourite of mine in the box was this adorable badge of a book saying ‘Readers Gonna Read’, which is just perfection.

Other items included a paperclip of a bookworm (again, just a brilliant idea), the cutest ‘To Be Read’/’To Review’/’Books to Buy’ notepad which I didn’t know I needed but I definitely do (hello organisation for this blog), these cute little badges, along with an extract from another book and with a Cinnamon Muffin recipe. You can just tell how much effort and thought went into this box, and I’m not even finished yet.

image8 (1)

I may not know a lot of authors, but Laini Taylor is very much a familiar name. I haven’t had the chance to read any of her books yet, but from what I hear she is a well-deserved popular YA author – so to have an exclusive look at the beginning of her upcoming book? Incredible.

The first thing that crossed my mind when I had rummaged through all the contents of this box was how much there was. It’s amazing, when you really look at each item, and you can definitely be certain that you’re getting what you paid for. And each item was just so well thought of and ingenious – if every box is like this, then I will definitely be saving up for the next one. So if you’re interested in investing in a book subscription box, be that one or many, definitely consider Illumicrate. It’s possible with some of the monthly boxes that some of the items and books included are a bit hit-and-miss, but you can’t really be angry as they’re producing a new box and organising every single month. With Illumicrate, you at least have that guarantee that more time and consideration has been put into every box. I’m glad I had the chance to get my hands on one.

image11

And in case you were wondering, I bought this box with my own hard-earned money 🙂

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

2 thoughts on “Illumicrate review”

Leave a Reply

