April Book Haul

It’s safe to say that working in a bookshop is very dangerous – and I mean very dangerous. Every shift you’re walking past book after book, watching people buy book after book, and lusting after every single one (the books, not the people – ugh, people).

I have to restrain myself from whipping out my discount card and money every time I go to work, but in April I caved and ended up buying four books. Only one of which that I was expecting.

image1 (3)

So first up we have the beautiful Temeraire by Naomi Novik, which I happened to finish last night (and that unfortunately means I just missed out on adding it to my book count for April, which is pretty dismal). This is the book I was expecting to buy, as a little treat to myself. As you all know from my review of Novik’s Uprooted, I was desperate to read more of her work – especially when I found out that it was about dragons. Dragons, people. This, actually brings us to the next purchase.

image2 (1)

A colleague of mine was with me when I picked up Temeraire, which they hadn’t heard of, but a dragon book they absolutely adored was A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan. Apparently a victorian-esque scientific journal, with a witty strong female protagonist – how could I say no?

image4 (1)

Now this one I blame entirely on the fact that my friend wouldn’t stop going on about how much she loved it along with the fact that it was a special, signed edition. How can you say no to an exclusive signed edition? I certainly don’t know how you do it, which is why I ended up grabbing The Bricks that Built the Houses by Kate Tempest, known a lot for her poetry and spoken word.

Now, we get to the one that is pretty embarrassing. And not in reference to the book, but for the reasons I took it. You can probably guess from the picture.

image3 (1)

I mean COME ON, how the hell are you supposed to resist that cover? LOOK AT IT. It’s beautiful, it’s shiny, it has a tribal wolf design on it, swirly funky old-school lettering, and the spine of the actual book is just perfection. I saw it during my shift and, no shame, grabbed it immediately without even reading what it was about. The Tiger and the Wolf, as I have now looked up, is in fact about clans that can shape-shift into animals, and our main character can shift, uniquely, into two (no points for guessing which two animals). As a die-hard Jacob fan from the Twilight saga, this luckily does appeal to me. Heck, even if it didn’t I’d still be happy – just look at that cover, damnit.

And so concludes my mini book buying splurge. Next post up will be my appalling April Wrap Up, and essay and exam season has definitely hit. I think The Tiger and the Wolf has also inspired a post about book covers and how really they do matter, not matter what we like to tell ourselves. Anyway, hope you’re all well and keep reading – book suggestions welcome, but also don’t make me want to buy any more books. Please. My purse hurts.

image5 (1)

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

Leave a Reply

