March Wrap Up

It seems every month I have an excuse ready as to why I haven’t read so many books, but that just seems ridiculous – why should I apologise for reading less books one month to another? We all have lives outside of reading (as simple as they may or may not be) and it seems stupid to keep explaining why my life that doesn’t involve reading is taking priority, as much as I wish it didn’t sometimes. Despite all that, I think I did pretty well this month with maybe a few more Kindle reads than anticipated. I’ve got a busy few months ahead, what with exams and essays, but by June my university work will be over for another year and all I’ll have to do during the Summer is work at my job, try to get an internship, and do reading for my dissertation. Yeah, life isn’t slowing down anytime soon.

thelittleaslam.com

First up this month is a book I’ve already sort-of reviewed, and that is A Gathering of Shadows by V.E Schwab. I literally finished it in one day, which happened on the first day of this month. Five stars without hesitation, a fantastic sequel and yet another book series that I would do almost anything to have the final book right now.

Next up is a book by an author who is always a one-click buy for me, and that is Jennifer L Armentrout’s The Power. I mean, come on, it’s a sequel in a spin-off series that’s all about the Greek Gods and Goddesses. I’m a Classics student who is currently planning a dissertation about ancient greek mythology – these books are my jam. Speaking of, that’s a pretty odd phrase – do people all have particular jams they like so much that this saying was born? Anyway, back to mythology – these books are so readable and you finish them without even realising how much you’ve already read. Action and adventure and drama on every page, no filler scenes whatsoever to bulk out the books. I’d recommend her books in a heartbeat to anyone who likes a bit of fantasy in a more YA setting with funny dialogue, lovable characters, and fast-paced reading. Her Lux series starting with Obsidian was one of the first I bought when I received my Kindle, and I’ve been buying all of her books since. Yes, it won’t win any literary prizes anytime soon, but they’re fun and enjoyable and isn’t that what we want to read?

pinterest.com

I wanted a short read next, so I picked up The Tiny Wife by Andrew Kaufman, which was definitely short and sweet exactly. This is the point in the month where I think I was so fed up of doing reading for uni, that I just wanted some Kindle reads to breeze through and not have to focus on them. You’ve been warned, let the kindle read marathon begin.

There’s Beautiful Lies and Beautiful love by Kendall Ryan, which I actually gave one star to – very trashy book that brought mindless reading to it, but there was an offer on them to purchase. Then Fisher’s Light by Tara Sivec which I’d seen so many reviews for, but I only rated it two stars; it was a nice story I guess, but I couldn’t connect at all with the characters so I ended up just not caring at all about what happened. Then there’s Sparrow, which I rated half a star more than Fisher’s Light, by L.J Shen and the description I wrote in my little reading journal is ‘Not so fluffy, interesting idea, not such an obvious end’. I think that says it all really. Then we finally have Wall of Winnipeg by Mariana Zapata, which I rated three stars (highest rating so far) and I’m glad as it was in the top rankings for ebooks. Again, I have an illuminating description of ‘lovely read and thankfully long’ – clearly I’ve been upset too many times by kindle books being so short just so they can sell multiple books which really could easily be condensed into one.

tumblr.com

Then I finally picked up an actual book again, and it was The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry which was the book featured in last month’s Owlcrate. I gave it three and a half stars, which now looking back on all of those ebooks I think was maybe a bit too harsh. Let’s say 3.45 so it can be rounded up. I think it’s because it took me a while to get into so I spent a long time reading it, but it did really pick up the pace at about 65% of the way through. An, as far as I can tell, original idea and a fantastic debut novel. There was a ‘story’ element to it, in so far as many stories were told (good explaining there, Eleanor), and I loved that aspect far too much. There also seems to be a theme in what I liked this month with books, as another big ‘plus’ point for me was that I didn’t guess the ending or the twist or, well, anything really. Lovely writing and a beautiful note from the author – definite recommend for anyone looking out for new authors of a sci-fi nature with a love story that literally transcends time.

Next up is Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, read on audible, and once again I loved it. Stephen Fry is by far the best narrator of the series without a doubt.I finished it alongside another Kindle buy, I’m afraid, and that was The Promise by Kristen Ashley who has a knack for writing long, drama-packed books and has a very typical style and format which just works for a quick flick with fun characters and witty passages.

tumblr.com

And finally for this month, I finished it with a proof copy of On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher. Such a cute book, very much like Andrew Kaufman with the magical elements, but had really fantastic moralising undertones. She has beautiful intentions with this fairytale-esque story with not over-emphasised discussions on sexuality and emotional manipulation – I wrote a mini review of it on my Instagram, but there should be a full review on another website which I’ll let you know about soon.

12328270_808377222629781_386797458_n

https://www.instagram.com/stammydodger/

All in all, not a bad month. Six book-books for me, including The Power and the Harry Potter audible book, my reasoning for The Power being that it was long, great, and I always just buy her books on Kindle for price reasons. Then six ebooks on top of that, although they weren’t all so great. So for my reading challenge I’m on 17/50 and 26 in total! Although my Goodreads tells me that for book-books I’m on 18, but to be honest I can’t think what I’ve missed out. Oh well, that just sums me up really – good at reading, bad at maths. Here’s to March.

gifcentral.blogspot

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

Leave a Reply

