Owlcrate review

In my post about best bookish gifts I mentioned the wonder that is book subscription boxes, specifically Owlcrate. Created by Korrina and Robert, this is one of the first book subscription services I caught wind of and I’m so glad I did. For months I followed them on instagram, jealous of everyone posting all the wonderful things that they received every month. Still I told myself that, as a student, I needed to spend my money on my university books and food and all those important things – but it was November that I cracked. As soon as they said the word ‘myth’ I was there, desperate for a bookish box that revolved around the theme of myths (come on, I’m a Classics student, give me a break).

image1 (1)

So my wonderful parents indulged me with the November box for Christmas, then I happened to get the December box, but forced myself to not get the January box as my money was running low, then talk of Valentines hit and as soon as I saw ‘Sci-Fi Love’ as a theme – well, you know what happened. Now I know I’m not particularly artistic photo-wise (if that’s what you’re after, then I’d definitely recommend hitting up Instagram as those photos make me salivate almost as much as chocolate makes does), but I tried.

image8

I mean, seriously, how cute is that? Reminds me of that wonderful binary solo in ‘The Humans are Dead’ by Flight of the Conchords who, if you haven’t already heard of, you should definitely look up.

Back to Owlcrate, the first item included was a beautiful wooden engraved Tardis by vector engraving, which made the Whovian within me squeal. Memories of watching David Tennent and Billie Piper every week all rushed back – a perfect item for the Sci-Fi theme.

image2

Next up we have a classic Tote Bag – and now with the 5p bag charge in England, this couldn’t have come at a better time. It features all of the couples that are found in the Lunar Chronicles series, which I take as a sign to spend some more money so I can start that series. After all, I now have the bag.

image3

Now as you may or may not know, Owlcrate sends out one recently released YA book every month, so imagine my complete glee to find that there were two books in this month. Definitely worth my money (or so I convince myself as I eat baked beans on toast for dinner). A beautiful copy of The Time Machine by the legendary H.G Wells, from the company ‘Rock Paper Books’, which has now become a new favourite for me. That is one huge plus for me concerning Owlcrate – the independent businesses they feature deserve the attention they get, and I always find something new that I desperately want in my life.

image4

Then, finally, we get to the book of the month, The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry. A book I haven’t yet heard of, but can’t wait to read. It even came with a gorgeous little signed sticker and the most uplifting note I’ve ever had from the author, which now holds pride of place on my wall.

Overall, a fantastic box with so many beautiful things and you can see the amount of thought and care that goes into it. Unfortunately for my bank account, it has only made me more hooked on the service and with March’s theme being ‘Writers block’, I think we can safely say that I’m going to be giving up nice food for another few weeks just to feed my addiction.

image7

So, if you’re after a bookish treat for yourself, or even for a friend as you can give them as gifts, then I would highly recommend you check out Owlcrate. If you’re still not 100% sure, then check out their website (link included earlier) and you can have a little look at their story and past boxes – one of which you can buy with a 20% discount! (Go on, I know you want to)

image9

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

2 thoughts on “Owlcrate review”

Leave a Reply

