Book Shaming

I love reading. I think we’ve established that. I love books, I love talking about them to the point I’ve set up a blog about it and I want to one day write them. When other people talk about loving books, I love that even more. Sharing your love for a book with someone is so wonderful it’s hard to describe, but it fills me with joy – it’s one of the reasons why I love working in a bookshop. Books to me mean happiness and lots of good, positive vibes. This is why I absolutely hate it when people create a negative out of them.

Book shaming. You’ve probably done it without thinking about it, but the two most common sorts of book shaming are classics and Harry Potter. I’ll start with Harry Potter – a fantastic series, no one can argue against that, but not everyone has read the books for reasons of their own. However, this series has a following of millions of passionate people and, unfortunately, when they meet someone who hasn’t read the books, they start an argument. It can be lighthearted teasing or full out scolding. ‘You haven’t read them? What the hell are you doing with your life? You need to read them!’

You can probably guess what I mean by book shaming now.

Shaming someone for not reading a certain book just isn’t right, to me. And, hell, I’ve had this happen to me more times than I care for. I read all kinds of books, and it started with horse books and Judy Moody, then went into teenage and contemporary, and now I find myself reading more fantasy than ever. For university, I read ancient Greek and roman plays, poems and history books along with a few selected books for English. Harry Potter is a series that I just never read. My brother read them all, and I remember a time when I wanted to be so independent that I refused to read them just for that fact – the amount of times people asked me whether I was always trying to be like him had me very sensitive. Then I remember trying to read the first one towards the end of primary school, and I just couldn’t get into it past the first chapter. So I put that book down and tried something else – I just never picked it up again. When they came out, I went to see the films and enjoyed them. I liked the world, the fantasy, the references to classical mythology – but I just didn’t read the books. I also don’t have any plans to read them, but that doesn’t mean I deserve abuse from peers, friends, colleagues or strangers just because of it.

Ok, enough about Potter shaming and on to classics shaming. You probably have an idea of what counts as the classical book ‘canon’ as such. It’s books like Pride and PrejudiceJane Eyre, The Great Gatsby, Little Women, Of Mice and Men etc, etc. You get the idea. Now people absolutely love to shame those who haven’t read these books termed as ‘the classics’. Reading these books have become a chore for some people just so they can say they’ve read them, rather than out of enjoyment. I am desperately trying to read as many classics as I can, because reading them before has never interested me. In secondary school I was more interested in books like the Hunger Games and, sadly, Twilight in my earlier years. Yet, now that I actually want to read these particular books, all I get is grief. ‘You call yourself an English student? What do you mean you haven’t read them?’ blah, blah, blah-de-bloody-blah. Everyone seems to have an opinion, and if they’ve read the books then they feel automatically superior. I read Wuthering Heights all the way through for the first time a few months ago, after many failed attempts to finish it when I was younger, yet when I happily told someone they immediately started the shaming spiel.

It’s a shame, excuse the pun, that these particular books have been so much adored by some people that those who haven’t read them are deemed failures immediately. Or even if people do love them – say someone saw an adaptation of Jane Eyre and now idols her, or if they’ve watched the Potter films and consider themselves a fan – that people still tell them off for not reading the books. Tell them that they don’t truly appreciate them because they haven’t read the books, so automatically their love for them should be revoked.

It’s not good, people. Not good.

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

2 thoughts on “Book Shaming”

  1. Yeah, its ridiculous. I tend to say “I read for enjoyment. If I don’t think I’ll enjoy it, I’m not gonna read it.” and leave it at that. I like sci-fi. I like horror. I like the occasional fantasy and romance. I have no desire to read Jane Austen, so I don’t. But I am working my way through some ‘other’ classics. Namely trying to round out my reading on Clarke, Aasimov, etc.

    Reading gives me the warm’n’fuzzies. Anyone who tries to ruin that by shaming me for what I’ve read or not read should be sentenced to fifty lashes with a wet noodle.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. good piece, great argument, liked it, a lot. Shaming is often a form of one-upmanship or snobbery?
    Keep writing!
    Your biggest fan (honestly)

    Like

Leave a Reply

