My recent favourite reads on Kindle

A lot has already been said on the subject of ‘ebooks vs print’, a topic which I even briefly discussed in 2013 – two years ago, for those who are extraordinarily bad at maths, and it’s safe to say that technology has come very far since then. What I do mention in a few of my blogs on alwayslovetowrite is that I always consider myself to have very different book-buying habits on Kindle than I do in print. I’ve recently got back into buying ‘proper books’ that I can display on my shelves, and I usually veer towards fantasy or big, chunky, ‘thought provoking’ reads. However, on Kindle, I usually stray towards contemporaries, and more often than not smutty romances that I can finish in a day. So, for today, I’m going to mention five of my favourite recent reads on Kindle – although, warning, in my opinion I’d say the main audience for these reads are majority female.

1. Every Last Breath by Jennifer L Armentrout

Jennifer L Armentrout was one of my first Kindle purchases, and I’ve bought every book she’s written since. I first found her when she wrote Obsidian, a new (you guessed it) fantasy/sci-fi book about aliens – a series that I devoured. When she released her novella Bitter Sweet Love I expected a very smutty romance, and what I discovered was a something completely different. Her Dark Elements series is about gargoyles, yes, you read that right, gargoyles, and demons. I’ve not encountered a book about gargoyles before, which was the same about aliens with Obsidian, and man did I love it. Every Last Breath is the third and final book in this series and it did not disappoint. I don’t care what people say about love triangles being ‘done’ – Ms Armentrout makes a good one. I mean…GARGOYLES people, how cool is that?

2. Moonlight on Nightingale Way by Samantha Young

A book that can be read as a standalone, but I’d advise to read all of the books in this series by Samantha Young. All contemporary, romance novels set in Scotland, Ms Young just knocks out one after the other with characters you can’t help but love. If you want a bit of love and drama (and some fantastic heroines) then definitely check these out.

3. Ride Steady by Kristen Ashley

Kristin Ashley has a formula for her writing, and it works. You know what to expect, when to expect it, and know you’re still going to read a great, fun book. Ride Steady is part of a spin-off series that focuses on the members of a Motorcycle Club. If you’re a fan of Sons of Anarchy, you might just find yourself loving this series by Ashley. I think you could get away with reading this as a standalone, but I’d again recommend going to the start and working your way through.

4. Rock Chick series by Kristen Ashley

For some reason, I never picked up this series by Kristen Ashley until recently and I just don’t know why. Once again, as I said above, these books follow a formula that works. You have a sassy heroine who you’re always rooting for, hilarious dialogue, action, a great love interest, and just a lot of fun. I think that’s how I’d sum up all of her books. When you read them, you just have fun – which is something that is completely underrated these days.

5. When You’re Back by Abbi Glines

Abbi Glines is another go-to buy, as her reads are just so sweet and heartwarming. I don’t think I’ve ever not finished one of her books in one sitting, or at least within a day. When You’re Back is the sequel to When I’m Gone so I don’t want to give spoilers, but I did not expect to happen what did happen (how vague can I be?), which is surprising as I always expect to be able to anticipate where the story is going. This book was a surprise for me, and I loved it.

Bloody hell, there is seriously a gif for everything, huh?

Author: El

I've been writing since I was a small child and, even though I was about as good as I was tall (not very), I loved it anyway. My dream is to be a full time writer, hopefully writing books of my own one day in the (hopefully) not too distant future. I'm 20 now and would appreciate any feedback you're happy to give. Alwayslovetowrite started as a place to share bits of my novel writing, and has now turned into a true blog where I rant, rave, mope, laugh, and talk about whatever is on my mind - some days, that's not much. As a book fanatic (I love to write them and read them), I started Alwayslovetoreadalot which is solely for chatting about books, from reviews to wrap ups, to me daydreaming about the good ol' days of story time, to talking about how bookmarks save lives. So come say hi, leave a comment (and a like if you're feeling super generous), and I hope you stick around to watch me flail through life and try to stay (somewhat) sane.

Leave a Reply

